William Kentridge: Shadow Quartet

Research output: Book/ReportOther output


Shadow Quartet forms an ensemble of four individual sculptures; each one of the figures is a cluster of multiple shadow figures with different personas that appear and disappear as viewers move around and between them. Ambiguity, recognition, and deception are intertwined in Shadow Quartet, as each sculpture morphs from one persona to another, from one individual to many, changing gender before your eyes - animated by your movement. Shadow Quartet offers continuous and surprising perceptual discoveries of recognition, transformation and visual pleasure.
Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationPerth
PublisherArt Gallery of Western Australia
Number of pages28
ISBN (Print)9780987080424, 0987080423
Publication statusPublished - 2011
EventWilliam Kentridge: Shadow Quartet - Art GAllery of Wetern Australia, Perth, Australia
Duration: 19 Nov 201020 Mar 2022

Publication series

NameCollection in Focus
PublisherArt Gallery of Western Australia


Dive into the research topics of 'William Kentridge: Shadow Quartet'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this