Ngumpin-Yapa Languages

Felicity Meakins, Thomas Ennever, David Osgarby, Mitch Browne, Amanda Hamilton-Hollaway

Research output: Chapter in Book/Conference paperChapter


Ngumpin-Yapa languages consist of the Ngumpin and Yapa subgroups (Bowern & Atkinson, 2012; McConvell & Laughren, 2004). Ngumpin languages are further divided into the Western branch, consisting of Walmajarri and Juwaliny (Hudson, 1977; Richards, 1979), Ngardi (Cataldi, 2011), Jaru and its dialect Nyininy (Tsunoda, 1981); and the Eastern Ngumpin branch, made up of Wanyjirra (Senge, 2015), Gurindji (Meakins et al., 2013) and its dialects Malngin (Ise, 1998) and Kartangarurru (McConvell, 1976), Bilinarra (Meakins, 2013a; Meakins & Nordlinger, 2014) and its dialects Ngarinyman and Wulayi (Jones et al., 2019), and Karrangpurru and Mudburra (Green et al., 2019). Warlpiri (Hale, 1982; Laughren & Hoogenraad, 1996; Legate, 2002; Nash, 1986; Simpson, 1991; Swartz, 2012) and Warlmanpa (Nash, 1981) constitute the Yapa languages.
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationOxford Guide to Australian Languages
EditorsClaire Bowern
PublisherOxford University Press
ISBN (Print)9780198824978
Publication statusPublished - 2023


Dive into the research topics of 'Ngumpin-Yapa Languages'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this