Translated title of the contribution: Thunderstorm

Clint Bracknell (Composer), David Harrington (Performer), John Sherba (Performer), Hank Dutt Hank Dutt (Performer), Paul Wiancko (Performer)

Research output: Non-traditional research outputPerformancepeer-review


For 50 years, Kronos Quartet – ‘the most far-ranging ensemble geographically, nationally, and stylistically the world has known’ (Los Angeles Times) – has pursued a singular artistic vision, combining a spirit of fearless exploration with a commitment to continually reimagine the string quartet experience. Now they return to Perth Festival for a stunning world premiere collaboration with Noongar composer and language revivalist Maatakitj (Dr. Clint Bracknell). Under a sea of stars in Perth Concert Hall, Kronos also shares signature works from its vast repertoire including pieces from landmark legacy project 50 For the Future, a free-access library of wondrous string quartet music from around the world. For this, Kronos Quartet will be joined onstage by ensembles from The University of Western Australia, Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts and The Western Australian Youth Orchestra.

San Francisco’s Kronos Quartet – David Harrington (violin), John Sherba (violin), Hank Dutt (viola), and Paul Wiancko (cello) – is one of the world’s most celebrated and influential ensembles, performing thousands of concerts, releasing more than 70 recordings, collaborating with countless composers and performers and commissioning over 1000 works and arrangements for string quartet. The group has won over 40 awards, including three Grammys, and the prestigious Polar Music, Avery Fisher, and Edison Klassiek Oeuvre Prizes.
Translated title of the contributionThunderstorm
Original languageNoongar
PublisherPerth Festival
Publication statusPublished - 4 Mar 2023
Externally publishedYes
EventPerth Festival: Kronos Quartet with Maatakitj - Perth Concert Hall, Perth, Australia
Duration: 4 Mar 20234 Mar 2023

Cite this