Arcades and Alleyways: Sonata for Euphonium

Alan Lourens (Composer)

Research output: Non-traditional research outputCompositionpeer-review


The Sonata for Euphonium is a traditional three movement sonata following classical forms. Movement one is lively Sonata Form, Movement Two is a quiet Ternary Form, and a very lively Rondo rounds out the composition.

This is is post-modern; it is Each movement opens strong in the stated key (G Major, f minor) though in each case the tonality wanders considerably before finishing in the home key. The work is descriptive in nature, but not programmatic.

Arcades and Alleyways explores the whole range of the instrument, from a Pedal B Flat to a C three octaves above that note, and requires professional level technical ability.
Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationLieksa Finland
Media of outputOnline
Publication statusPublished - 20 Jul 2018


Dive into the research topics of 'Arcades and Alleyways: Sonata for Euphonium'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this