No photo of Peter Lilly
  • The University of Western Australia (M051), 35 Stirling Highway,

    6009 Perth


If you made any changes in Pure these will be visible here soon.

Personal profile


Dr Peter Lilly has over 36 years of experience post-PhD, almost a decade of which has been in strategic research organisations the majority with CSIRO, over 11 years in academia the majority with Curtin University, and the remainder in industry where he was either a team member on or the leader of mining and civil engineering projects in 15 countries.

In industry he held technical, management and senior management positions in consultancy firms and mining companies. In CSIRO he has been a Research Program Manager, General Manager, Chief of Division (leading about 230 research staff) and Flagship Director (leading over 450 research staff). In universities, his academic appointments have been at the Professorial level since 1999 with management positions including Head of Department, Head of School, Director and Executive Director.

Peter is a former non-executive director of The Australasian Institute of Mining & Metallurgy Inc, where he was also National President and Chairman of the Board in 2006, the Australian Prospectors & Miners Hall of Fame Ltd and AMIRA International Ltd. He held a number of past positions on significant government bodies, including the WA First Class Mine Managers’ Board of Examiners, the WA Mining Industry Advisory Committee, and the Commonwealth Minerals Exploration Advisory Group.

He is Chairman of the Board of the Minerals Research Institute of Western Australia, a statutory corporation, a Non Executive Director of METS Growth Centre Ltd, and a Trustee of The Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy Education Endowment Fund. He is also a member of the CSIRO Mineral Resources Flagship Advisory Council, a member of the Accreditation Council of the Australian Research Management Society, and chair of the Inductees Selection Committee for the Australian Prospectors and Miners Hall of Fame Ltd.

In 2007 he was elected to the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering for “outstanding contributions to leadership in the Australian minerals sector through tertiary education, research management, consulting engineering and professionalism.” In 2008, he received two major awards from The Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy: the Sir Willis Connolly Medal awarded to a person whose ability to communicate has advanced the profession, the industry or the management of science, engineering or technology; and the Beryl Jacka Award in recognition of extraordinary and sustained service to the profession.

Projects 2014 2015